Hawaiian Grilled Cheese

This was a random Pinterest recipe I ran across today and it simply sounded like something  I had to try! As a religious lover of Hawaiian pizza and grilled cheese I’m surprised I never thought of this combo!!

Thus, as soon as I got off work I rushed home to try it for supper! It only takes about 15 minutes total depending on what kind of cheese and ham you get and have to slice it up.

It is also a very simple recipe as you only need five ingredients. I only had to go get some pineapples as I had everything else. I chose to do canned pineapples as I don’t have a large enough knife to cut through a whole one – no worries, it still tasted perfect!

I just finished eating mine and it was great!! You have to careful of the dripping pineapple juice, but that was about it. I think next time I am going to put more cheese and maybe more ham (I have thin slices). I am a huge fan of LARGE grilled cheese sandwiches!!

Also, I am considering adding some cream cheese to the mix next time. I figure if the only way I will eat Hawaiian pizza is with creamed cheese, it should be good on a grilled cheese sandwich too!

Ingredients
Ham slices (I used honeyed ham)
Pineapple slices
Butter
Bread (I use whole wheat)
Cheese (I used Monterey Jack)

Directions
Butter the two slices of bread. Place one slice on the grill or in the frying pan (butter side down). Place one slice (or slices of cheese depending on what you use) on the bread, then a few slices of ham, then a pineapple slice, then more ham, another slice of pineapple and top it off with more cheese slices and the last slice of bread.

I let mine fry about 5 minutes to make certain the cheese melted and the pineapples were hot. *Note-If you are using a Foreman-type grill, be sure to use the grease catcher for the pineapple juice!

This is another version of the recipe.

Grilled Cheese Lover? I also have a recipe for Pepperoni Pizza Grilled Cheese!

About LynneLee

I am interested in crafts, scrapbooking, recipes, DIY, and reading! I love finding new, easy, and cheap ideas for projects or recipes online and giving them a try. Check out my blog playingwithpins.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Food & Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

